alva noto + ryuichi sakamoto

The minimalist piano of Ryuichi Sakamoto and the subtle electronic glitchery of Alva Noto come together in this series of quietly engaging albums. Virioon (2002), Insen (2005), Revep (2006), utp_ (2008), and Summvs (2011) form the Virus Series, the title of which seems more relevant than ever. While utp_ features the esteemed Ensemble Modern, the other four releases focus on the duo and their sonic experiments in ambient deconstruction, and they’re quite lovely. Below are three of the albums in full. Sakamoto and Noto later collaborated on the acclaimed soundtrack for The Revenant.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s